WELCOME

All shooters, all abilities!


I’m a new shooter. Help!”

“Can someone show me if I’m doing something wrong?”

I need to work on my defensive shooting skills!”

I want to get my Carry Permit.”


Whether you are new to the firearm world or have been shooting for a while,
you may find that you need some additional help or instruction.

If you are seeking any of the following:

• Developing your basic handgun skills
• Getting more comfortable and accurate with your handgun
• Want to apply for your ND Concealed Weapon License
Want to apply for or renew your MN Permit To Carry
• Break bad habits and learn new ones
• Want to buy a new gun, but not sure which one

You have come to the right place!

My name is Michael Andersen, I’m the owner of Black Hat Handgun in Fargo, ND.

I am:
• NRA Certified Chief Range Safety Officer
• NRA Certified Instructor
• North Dakota Concealed Weapons License Test Administrator
• Minnesota Permit To Carry Instructor

I offer both individual and small group handgun instruction, ND CWL classes and MN Permit To Carry Classes
I can meet at a local range or another location, depending on the situation (e.g., ND CWL instruction and testing at your business, church or other location then shoot at local gun range)


Individual instruction is $50 per person, per hour (1 hour minimum)

♦ Must provide your own handgun and ammunition (no rentals)
♦ May involve live fire and/or dry fire exercises
♦ Groups may qualify for lower per-person fee
Please note: I do NOT do individual ND CWL or MN Permit to Carry classes.


ND Concealed Weapon License class is $50
(+ $15 Range Fee if applying for Class 1 license)

◊ 4+ Hours of classroom instruction using ND BCI Material & PowerPoint
◊ 1 Hour written exam: Open book based on ND CWL Manual (provided)
◊ Proficiency shooting test when written exam is passed (for ND Class 1 license only)
◊ All instruction is held at the Red River Regional Marksmanship Center
Fingerprinting is available upon request. A $10 fee is charged for this service.
◊ Complete your Application online for faster processing [HERE(bring printed copy to class)
∴ This class is what is required to apply for the ND CWL license. Students must successfully pass the exam & shooting test as well as a background check done by the State to obtain their permit.
No complete refunds of fees are offered unless the class is cancelled by the instructor.
→ The Qualification shoot is not for first time shooters ←
A firearm, 2 magazines and a holster that attaches to the belt are required for the shoot
NOTE: DUE TO CLASSROOM SIZE REGISTRATION IS CAPPED AT 12 STUDENTS PER CLASS


MN Permit To Carry class is $75
(+ $15 Range Fee for live fire exercise)

◊ This class covers the basic safety principals and laws regarding the Minnesota Personal Protection Act to safely and responsibly carry a firearm.
◊ 4-hour classroom instruction hosted at Northern Plains Gunworks, Moorhead, MN
◊ Live fire test held at Red River Regional Marksmanship Center, West Fargo, ND
◊ Certificate issued at class is used to apply for or renew MN permit with County Sheriff
No refunds for fees are offered unless the class is cancelled by instructor.
Must provide your own firearm, 2 magazines, 1 box of ammunition, ear and eye protection.


If you carry for protection, make sure you are covered in the event you have to defend yourself. https://secure.firearmslegal.com/blackhathandgun


If you are interested in private lessons or have any questions regarding other classes that are offered, please submit your request via the Contact Me form below and I will get back to you as soon as possible.